This is an easy way to organize users into Groups to share lessons with students, collaborate with colleagues, and view analytics on Group activity. Although we call them Groups, you can think of them as classes. You control who can view and manage lessons shared with the Group, and your viewers can instantly join the group with your unique group code. Organize viewers into Groups to easily share lessons and view group activity analytics. Control who can view, edit, contribute, or manage lessons shared with the Group, including other instructors. This is a Zaption Pro feature.
A brief overview video can be found below:
Here are 5 steps to set up a group and start collecting viewer responses.
Step 1: Create a Group
Under the Groups dropdown menu at the top of the home page, select Create a Group.
Name the group and add a description by clicking on the edit symbol to enter text, and clicking the symbol again to save.
Tip: Be specific with the group title and description. This will help differentiate between groups created for the same subject and make sharing easy when collaborating with other instructors.
Step 2: Add Group Members
Select the Manage Group tab under the name and the description box. Here you can add members by username/email or by sharing a unique group code. To be added to a group, users must already have a Zaption account.
- Add by username: Enter the username or email of a Zaption user you would like to add to the group. The member will automatically be added to the list of group members to the right.
- Share Group Code: Any Zaption user can join a group by entering the a Group code to the Join a Group option from the Groups dropdown menu
- Share Auto-Join Link: Invite anyone to join the group by sharing with them the Group Code or Auto-Join Link. If the person you shared this link with does not yet have a Zaption account they will be prompted to sign up for a Viewer account or a free trial, and they will then be automatically added to your Group.
To join a group, go to the groups dropdown menu, and select Join a Group and you will be prompted to enter the group code.
Step 3: Assign Membership Roles
There are three levels of access you can assign to members in your group. By default, all members will be initially assigned the Participant role.
- Participant: can view and edit lessons (when given permission to do so - more on this later), but cannot share their own lessons with the group
- Contributor: can do what Participants can do, but also can share their own lessons with the group
- Administrator: can do all that the others can do, plus can add/remove group members, and delete or lock the group
Step 4: Add Lessons to Share with your Group
To add lessons to the group, simply click the Add Lesson option on the Shared Lessons tab. From this model you can browse and search through published lessons that you have authored.
By default, all of the lessons are shared to the group will be View-Only. If you would like to give all members of your group editing rights, and select Advanced Sharing from the Analytics dropdown menu. In the Access tab search for the group or user by name, and select View/Edit this lesson. Be sure to click Add when you are done.
It's important to note that permissions for viewing, sharing, editing, and deleting lessons can also be granted through the Manage Group tab.
Step 5: Group Activity Analytics
Quickly see an overview of your group's activity, including a table with group members listed.
- Members: View the number of members in your group, including participants, contributors, and administrators.
- Lessons: Quickly see how many lessons have been shared with this group.
- Activity: See how active the group members have been.
- Last Day: The percentage of users in the group that have viewed a lesson in the last day (24 hours)
- Last Week: The percentage of users in the group that have viewed a lesson in the last week (7 days)
- Ever: The percentage of users in the group that have ever viewed a lesson.
- Download Activity CSV: Keep track of which lessons have been viewed by individual group members and archive
Tip: To view the individual responses of your group members, go to the Analytics page of the specific lesson and download the CSV file. If you are sharing a lesson with multiple groups and want to keep the analytics separate, we recommend cloning the lesson and sharing a unique copy with each group. Learn more here.
The Lock Group feature is a great option for preventing new users from joining your Group. Locking the group will prevent users from joining when they click the Auto-join link or enter the Group code, but you can still add them to the Group manually.
No longer need the group? After downloading the CSV for your records, you can easily delete the group by selecting the Delete button on the group page. All responses from viewers will be saved in the individual lessons that were shared with the group.